Spot the Toucan

Although I love my camera, there are times when a 40mm pancake lens is useless, and one of those times was today. I booked a birdwatching tour through my hostel in the cloud forest town of Mindo, in Ecuador. Ecuador is one of the most biodiverse countries on the planet and home to an extraordinarily large bird population. Around Mindo alone are over 1500 different species. I was desperate to see a toucan, and thanks to a pair of powerful binoculars,  I saw seven, including a few toucanets, or toucanitos in Spanish. Unfortunately my lens didn’t feel the need to share toucan photos with the world, so instead, why not turn the images into a game? Welcome to Spot the Toucan. A reminder to always, always take a zoom lens.

image

image

image

Round 2:

image

image

Leave a Reply

